Rain, Rain Go Away.

We have had so much rain that the the organizers of Harvey #2 have decided to postpone it til 23rd & 24th of November due to the ground not being safe for riding. Apparently, you sink to mid calf when walking on some parts of the XC course. Good call I say. It will be the last event of the season now, after the Australian International 3 Day Event. I am not sure how the 2* class will go, due to a few of the riders in that class making the long trip over the Nullabor to Adelaide.

Oh well, It gives me more time to get Bo ready for Swan River Horse Trials @ Dryandra. GK is being benched for the rest of the season. We will do some work over the summer and come back better than ever for next season. Bo will make his EA debut instead. He will be doing EvA65 for fun.

Bo worked super well Monday and Tuesday. I was so pleased with him, he felt amazing and was (finally) bending correctly around my inside leg! Wednesday, I gave GK a Bowen treatment and while I was walking around, I twisted my knee. 😦 Poor GK didn’t know what to do, He just stood there as if to say, “OMG, It wasn’t me! Umm mum, are you ok?” I have hyper mobile Patellas and every now and then I suffer from Patella Subluxation, which is where my Patella dislocates and then pops back into place. Normally I am fine after 5 or so mins and as it has happened so many times, it normally doesn’t swell however this time I seem to have hurt it a little worse. There has been a heap of swelling and due to the swelling I have been unable to engage my Vestus Lateralis, Vestus Medialis and Rectus Femoris, so my knee has been super unstable when I walk. Needless to say I have not been in the saddle… until today 😉 I hopped on Bo for 15-20 mins this evening, I am unable to put weight into my heels, so I worked stirrupless and attempted to sit trot. I can sit trot fine on GK, but Bo has a big, bouncy stride which I am going to have to practice with… a lot. I felt like a sack of spuds bouncing all over the place, but I felt like I improved a bit towards the end.

 

Impressive huh??

knee

I am very excited about my lesson with Olympian Stuart Tinney in a few weeks. I was planning on taking GK, but he is having a month off to rest and recover before I bring him back into work, so Bo is stepping up to the plate and we are going to have a flatwork lesson. Hopefully my knee is better, or my sitting trot is a lot better before hand 🙂

 

 

Not much else to report. 🙂

Hope you are well

C xx

Leave a Reply

