When a Horse Needs Shoes….

I think very highly of the man who wrote this article. He is not only a qualified Master Farrier, he is also a “Barefoot Trimmer.” I know there is a lot of controversy about Barefoot vs Traditional hoof care which is why I choose to not take sides. Both camps have good arguments and do make valid points. As I am not a Farrier or Trimmer, I do not know enough about trimming, shoeing or the lower leg to pick apart other peoples work. I do however like to read and learn about various techniques and why certain methods work better in situations. I also like to ask questions… And I love the fact my farrier is patient enough to answer them for me. I am also a firm believer in doing what is best for the individual horse (as we are all aware horses are individuals 🙂 )

The reason I like Andrew Bowe so much is he is not against shoeing even though he prefers horses to not be shod. However if a horse needs shoes for whatever reason, he will shoe. He also successfully rehabilitates horses horses with such bad pedal bone rotation that the bone is protruding out of the soles of their hooves. He really knows his stuff. Imagine if all farriers/trimmers/whoever you use to do your horses hooves was like this… There would be no questionable trims, no under-run heels, no long toes and our horses would be a heap more comfortable. Unfortunately he lives on the other side of the country. I was lucky enough to attend a talk he gave late last year though.

If you would like to read the article I am talking about, please find the link below.

Part 1

http://www.horsesandpeople.com.au/sites/default/files/articles/ABowe_Shoes1_Sept13.pdf

Part 2

http://www.horsesandpeople.com.au/sites/default/files/articles/ABowe_Shoespart2_Oct13.pdf

I will post the link to Part 3 as soon as it becomes available. In the meantime if you would like to learn more about Andrew and the amazing work he does, check out his website http://www.barehoofcare.com/

The case studies especially are amazing… Have a look at Whisky in the Laminitis section. It is truly awe inspiring.

 

Leave a Reply

