I Touch Myself Project

It’s not as suss as it sounds… I swear, nor have I been hacked by some random – Hang in there and all will make sense. πŸ™‚

Capture

First things first… Chrissy Amplett was the lead singer of a band called the Divinyls who formed in 1980. In 1991 they recorded a song called “I Touch Myself” which was their only number 1 single in Australia and reached top 5 on the Billboard 100. On 20th October 2010 she announced that as well as suffering from Multiple Sclerosis, she had also been diagnosed with Breast Cancer. She passed away after a long battle on 21st April 2013. It was her dying wish to have “I Touch Myself” to become an anthem for Breast Cancer Awareness and to promote self checking.

The Original

Now 10 of Australia’s top female artists have come together to record a cover of this song that has given me goosebumps. Little Pattie, Olivia Newton-John, Kate Ceberano, Megan Washington, Katie Noonan, Deborah Conway, Suze DeMarchi, Sarah Blasko, Connie Mitchell and Sarah McLeod have all lent theirΒ  voices to the cause and the end result is this;

The behind the scenes clip is just as haunting.

Those of you who have read through my blog will know that on 4th September 2010 I lost my own mum to Breast Cancer and every October I compete in pink in honor of her memory so as you can imagine, this is a cause very close to my own heart.

Mammograms are recommended if you are over 40 but for younger women, it is important that we get familiar with our “girls” and start inspecting them for any thing that is not normal. It doesn’t take long and can be done in the shower, in front of a mirror and/or laying down. For a quick guide on how to do a self check, please check out this link. http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/breast-self-exam

The effect my mum’s battle had on her was something she kept to herself. She was an incredibly strong woman who worked the whole time she was undergoing chemo, but try as she might to keep it from me I could see the battle that was going on between her body and her formidable strength of will. Physically, it was nowhere near as hard on me as it was her but emotionally, it was hard on me and at times I don’t know how I made it through. It was horrible to watch her body gradually give up on her and know there was nothing I could do to take the pain away. I am so thankful she went really quick and was not stuck in a hospital for months on end waiting to die because she would have hated that.

Enough about me because mum’s cancer battle is still really hard for me to write about and also this isn’t about me…. This is about a great cause and catching breast cancer early gives you the best hope of a good prognosis. If you want to know more, check out http://itouchmyself.org/ or visit the YouTube Channel https://www.youtube.com/user/itouchmyselfproject

 

Take Care (and don’t forget to cop a bit of a feel)

 

C xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

