The First Post

Hi and welcome to my blog.

I am going to give you an insight into the ups and downs of my life as an amateur eventer. Who am I you ask? Well, I am a soon to be 26-year-old from Perth, Western Australia. I started riding in 2010 after the death of my mum as riding has always been something I have wanted to do. Even though I haven’t been riding as long as some people out there, I am highly motivated, driven and just a little bit competitive…. which I think has helped me improve as much as I have in such a short period of time.

I bought my first horse in June 2011. He is a 14.3hh, rising 15-year-old Andalusian x Thoroughbred x Riding Pony called GK. He is my main event horse. We Have been pretty successful this year so far in Intro 2/EvA65 events, placing in the top 10 each time and will soon be competing in our first Intro 1/EvA 80 event, which will hopefully be at the South West Horse Trails in Harvey in June this year.

GK

My second horse is Bo, a 16hh Off the Track Thoroughbred. I bought him (well paid my friend’s share out) in May 2012. Unfortunately Bo injured his Suspensory Ligament while racing, so even though he has been declared sound by my vet and able to jump, eventing probably won’t be his main career path. I don’t mind this, as I can focus on dressage with Bo and being a stronger Dressage rider can only improve my riding over all.

boshanays

The last few days have been a bit wet and wild, so instead of riding I have concentrated on stable chores… Mucking out the paddocks and other fun stuff. Tonight was the first time this week that GK has been ridden. It wasn’t a long ride as I was losing light fast, but I managed to take him for a short canter to blow out a few cobwebs and stretch his legs. It felt amazing cantering along the bridle paths, the wind (and a few small rain drops) hitting me in the face and feeling GK just cruising along under me. Its a feeling only horse riders know. Tomorrow Bo will be ridden and over the weekend as it is supposed to fine up, I can do a decent bit of schooling to start getting Bo’s fitness up and GK ready for Harvey.

Thanks for reading.

Until next time

C xx

2 responses to “The First Post

  1. Hey, I’ve recently started a blog, only to record my boys progress from an unbroken 3.5 year old and onwards as I have the memory of a fish I’m sure to forget. I’m not nearly as driven and competitive as you, and my blog is more mediocre…But I thoroughly enjoyed your first post and look forward to reading more, and perhaps I can draw some inspiration and feed off your competitiveness! Well done 🙂
    Lisa

    • Hi Lisa,
      Thanks for your comment. It’s nice to get some feedback. 🙂 I would love to read your blog and have someone to keep me motivated to update mine more often. I have the memory of a fish too, but I am determined to make this work. 🙂

Leave a comment